Surrounded by Celebrities

16 Feb

…at least I think I was.

I’m not a huge fan of going out ON Valentine’s Day. It just feels so forced. But last night was Valentine’s Day +1, and I was fine with the reservation my husband made for us.

I was very excited; he took me to the Capital Grille in DC, which I’ve never been to. We’re huge fans of trying new places to dine, so I was excited to head over.

I loved the Capital Grille. It was old-school. Dark wood, dim lighting, and almost pompous in a subdued way (if you can imagine.) It was far from loud and trendy, but even so, it was the place to be. Full of politicians, full of (I’m assuming) lobbyists, but all the ego-stroking was done in a calm and composed manner. I don’t think there was anyone there under the age of thirty.

Being a native New Englander, I had high expectations as I ordered  a three pound Maine lobster My husband had a steak by the likes of which I’ve never seen. Both were delicious.

We were surrounded by well-known people, except I couldn’t place any of them. Cut me some slack; all politicians look the same in dark blue suits!

My husband did a fantastic job choosing this restaurant, and we had a great, relaxing even.

I think I have a new favorite restaurant.

2 Responses to “Surrounded by Celebrities”

  1. Karyl February 16, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I didn’t realize you lived in the DC area. I do too. I haven’t tried that restaurant but plan to! Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!

    • wittywife February 17, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

      Sure do! I live in DC proper. I love it here!

      I’m sure you’ll like the Capital Grille. It’s a bit pricey, though, so it’s definitely only an every-now-and-again sort of place for us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

