Ideas for changing your life

10 Mar

Ok, so, these are ideas for changing my life, but I want to know what changes you’re looking to make, too. Add them in the comments! Though these aren’t all ‘marriage’ changes, I think all of them will benefit my marriage in some way.

Changes I want to make / Things I want to do:

  • Kiss and hug my husband every day.
  • Stay calm, particularly if we start to argue.
  • Walk away from a less-than-calm argument, instead of becoming an emotional trainwreck.
  • Spend 15 minutes a day talking….work, kids, schedules, our relationship, and chores are off-limit topics. It’ll be interesting to see what we talk about.. I feel like all we talk about sometimes are these topics.
  • Put up more pictures of us around the house.
  • Discuss (and write down and post somewhere) our 2 year goal, 5 year goal, 15 year goal, and retirement goals.
  • Have more sex (we’re tired parents of a 7 year old and 15 month old!) I read that the average is 1.5 times a week, so we’re already ahead of the curve, but I’d prefer more if I could actually stay awake!
  • Encourage my husband to get out a little more. He works long days at work, and though we make time for our ‘couple friends,’ he doesn’t get out much for a guy’s evening. I’m thankful for the time he is at home, but wondering if he’d be a little happier if he got out every now and then.
  • Be more positive and less negative. I tend to see the negative side of everything. I’m a realist!
  • Expand our circle of happy  ‘couple’ friends.
  • Have more ‘active’ dates with my husband. We LOVE dining out, but I’d like to try something a little more involved and active. (Any suggestions?)

Any other ideas? What are some things you’d like to change, or even do every day?

8 Responses to “Ideas for changing your life”

  1. karyl33 March 10, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I’ve got ideas for more active dates: taking a walk together, playing a sport together like Ultimate Frisbee, Kickball, Volleyball, Roller or Ice Skating. My husband and I walk together sometimes. It’s really fun. Of course there is walking for exercise and then there’s strolling. Strolling is definitely more fun in my opinion but less active.

    • wittywife March 10, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Agreed. I can’t wait for warmer weather! We used to take walks up around Capitol Hill nightly! Eastern Market is always a good walk on the weekends, too.

  2. got2havefaith May 1, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    What’s up Wittywife? You haven’t written anything for over a month. Ah, everything must be perfect in marriage land. Don’t stop writing. I may not comment often, but I read often. Your advice is meant to be shared…

    • wittywife October 4, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

      Wow, thank you for your kind words! THings have been very good! But busy – I’ll update everyone soon!

  3. karyl33 May 4, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    how’s it going? i haven’t seen a post for a while and miss you! :) take a look at my blog today.

    http://ilovethishusbandandwifestuff.wordpress.com/

    • wittywife October 4, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Hello there! It’s been ages! Thanks for stopping by. I will definitely get to writing again soon!

  4. Duddy June 29, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    As a couple’s counselor, I have to say that you have captured and simplified so much practical advice in this list, that’s it’s hard to believe!

    From not trying to communicate when emotionally flooded, to hanging out with marriage-nurturers to encouraging your spouse to get out and do active self-care; – wow!

    I can’t add to this list, because it’s given me enough to work on myself not to mention share with my readers and followers.

    Gratefully yet again,
    – Duddy.

    • wittywife October 4, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Well, it’s been ages since I’ve posted, but I’ve just come across your comment, and I have to say – Thank you! I appreciate your words. I’ve worked hard to put these thoughts together.

      Thanks again for visiting. I hope to keep the writing up, so check back soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

