The Marriage Project

17 Aug

This is Witty Wife’s Marriage Project.

Everyone knows the keys to successful marriages. We all do.  But still there’s lots of failure.

My initial thoughts:

  • Marriage is hard work. It doesn’t just ‘happen.’
  • Marriages today are considered disposable. I can see how they’re just not necessary for some people. Don’t get married, then, if this is you.
  • There’s no such thing as ‘the one.’ We all know falling in love is easy.  Getting married is choosing to continue to love a person.
  • The grass is always greener, and will it always WILL be if you think there’s “the one.” Again, it’s easy to fall in love, and if you’re having issues with your spouse, you’ll question yourself into thinking the new person might REALLY be “the one.” Don’t question it. You’re married, you’ve made your decision.

And so I’m married, I made my decision. It’s my project. I can’t control what anyone else does, only me. This blog will keep you up to date with what I’m doing.

6 Responses to “The Marriage Project”

  1. shrnmartin01 August 20, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    I agree. Marriage is nothing to play with and in my opinion, if absolutely possible, divorce should be avoided at all time. Marriage is something you have to work at and no, it is never easy. And your thoughts are right on point!

    Great post!

  2. {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After August 29, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    “- There’s no such thing as ‘the one.’ We all know falling in love is easy. Getting married is choosing to continue to love a person.
    – The grass is always greener, and will it always WILL be if you think there’s “the one.” Again, it’s easy to fall in love, and if you’re having issues with your spouse, you’ll question yourself into thinking the new person might REALLY be ‘the one.’ Don’t question it. You’re married, you’ve made your decision.”

    Wow – awesome insight!

    • wittywife August 30, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Thanks for the comment! I don’t know if I’m ‘right’ or what, but it just seems to make sense, you know?

      I love your blog as well!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage Project – Assessment #3 « The Marriage Project - September 15, 2010

    […] For anyone new here that needs to catch up, check out my first post where I describe my Marriage Project. […]

  2. #41 When you’ve made a big old mess of your marriage « The Marriage Project - November 1, 2012

    […] I can only control me. I haven’t done a great job, but rereading my own posts should be helpful. […]

Leave a Reply

