#1: Send husband thank-you note in the mail

17 Aug

Project:

I’m a bit frustrated with a recent disagreement my husband and I had, but it’s pointless to rehash with him as it is resolved.  He has agreed to do things ‘my way’, even though he disagrees in principle.  I’m happy he’s handling the situation ‘my way’, and appreciative that he made a compromise, but I still feel a bit resentful that he doesn’t ‘get it’. 

So today, I’m controlling what I can control. Today I’m sending my husband a thank you note in the mail. Sure, I’m frustrated with him, but he did compromise with me. Disagreeing isn’t the end of the world.

I’m not thanking him for taking my position in the argument, I’m thanking him for all of the ‘other’ stuff he does well, which is often overlooked when we’re focusing on the bad stuff. I sent him a note thanking him for being a good dad.  I thanked him for working his tail off at his new job to help provide for us.

Is this self serving? Partly, yes. But it’s self serving in a good way; it’s helping me let go of the anger I was feeling by focusing on something good. And I hope he’ll be surprised to receive a card at work and know that I love him even when we disagree.

Update #1 – * Still working on finding a stamp to mail said letter.

Update #2 –

08/24/2010

Email from husband:

“I just got a letter from a very beautiful woman delivered to me here at the office. Thank you, baby. That was VERY sweet.”


4 Responses to “#1: Send husband thank-you note in the mail”

  1. marklovesjess August 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I’m sure he will love the note. This week as been especially hard for me, and I have been spending more time in B*tch mode then I would like to admit. I sent Hubs a note saying thanks for being so supportive during this stressful time…. that note is on the fridge. I asked him why he put it there, and he said it like a husband report card. A+ for both of us. =)

    ps. love the blog =)

  2. wittywife August 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    That’s sweet too! You guys are great!

    Thanks for loving the blog. There are so many relationship blogs out there, and I work better with lists and things, so I thought I’d try to turn the whole thing into a ‘project.’

    Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. suburbianbliss January 26, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    This is a great idea! I think I will do this 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage Poject – Assessment #1 « The Marriage Project - August 24, 2010

    […] Project #1: Send husband thank-you note in the mail […]

Leave a Reply

