#3: Do something unexpected

19 Aug


I decided this morning to do something unexpected. So I wrote, “I love you,” in the bathroom mirror with lipstick.

A bit uncharacteristic of me.

Is writing in the mirror going to help make our marriage last forever? Doubtful, but a little surprise here or there in the morning beats auto-pilot and barely saying a word to each other before heading out the door.

Result:

I wasn’t sure where this one would go, and thought his reaction could go one of two ways. I imagined that he might roll his eyes and ignore it, or perhaps tell me it was silly.

To my surprise, he gave me a kiss and told me it was a sweet thing to do. It helped the morning get off to a nice start.

3 Responses to “#3: Do something unexpected”

  1. shrnmartin01 August 19, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    omg that was so sweet and that’s a GREAT idea.. I’ll be sure to think of that when I’ve settled down. I like your thinking!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage Poject – Assessment #1 « The Marriage Project - August 24, 2010

    […] Project #3: Do something unexpected […]

  2. Project #4: Dress up « The Marriage Project - August 27, 2010

    […] (Wondering what happened yesterday when I wrote “I love you” in the mirror?) […]

Leave a Reply

