Project #5: Pick up his dry-cleaning

24 Aug

Project:

We only have one car, as we’re city dwellers. My husband uses the car to get to work; I can take public transportation to get to mine.

But since on the way home from work, he’s got the little one from daycare, it’s impossible for him to stop at the dry cleaner, take the baby out of the car, get his dry cleaning, put the baby back in, put the dry cleaning in the car, etc…

Yesterday he called me on his way home from work and asked me if I could meet him outside the house so we could get the cleaning together; I could wait in the car with the kiddo while he ran inside. I told him I’d just walk over and get it (it’s about 5 blocks), but he had concerns it would be too heavy.

I walked over anyway. It WAS heavy. 3 men’s suits, about 8 of his dress shirts, and a few of my skirts. I dropped a few things on the way home, but I managed.

Result:

A

My husband was completely surprised that I picked up the dry cleaning. It was a HUGE load, he didn’t think I’d be able to carry it, but I saved him about 30 minutes off of the tail end of his commute by getting the dry cleaning for him. He was thrilled!

He made me my favorite don’treallyneeddinnerbutneedsomethingtomunchon treat – Guacamole. After we got the baby to bed, he watched a chick flick with me (Where the Heart Is) as well!

4 Responses to “Project #5: Pick up his dry-cleaning”

  1. karyl33 August 24, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Like your blog. I have one about marriage too:
    http://ilovethishusbandandwifestuff.wordpress.com/

    • wittywife August 25, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      Thanks Karyl33 – I’ve bookmarked you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage Poject – Assessment #1 « The Marriage Project - August 24, 2010

    […] Project #5: Pick up his dry cleaning […]

  2. Project #6: Pretend I’m being watched at all times « The Marriage Project - August 27, 2010

    […] )Wondering what happened with my last post about the dry cleaning?) […]

Leave a Reply

