#7: Put the phone back on the charger

25 Aug

My husband told me this morning that one of the things that rubs him the wrong way the most is that I never put the telephone back on the charger.

It’s true, I don’t. But who knew it would rub him the wrong way so much? I suppose if that’s one of the top things on his list that annoys him, we’re doing pretty well!

My project for the rest of the week is to seriously put the phone back on the charger. Is it really this simple to please him?

Update:

This one needs more work. I did get a “Holy crap did you just put the phone on the charger?” comment from my husband, so I think this is a minor success. Now I just need to keep actually doing it!

(Curious about Project #6 where I pretend I’m being watched at all times?)

5 Responses to “#7: Put the phone back on the charger”

  1. marriagecoach1 August 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    So today I took up for the distaff side and got tough on the men and you have no comment. We are really about the same business about making marriages better and more functioning.

    I am giving women the overwhelming view from the men’s side, so I don’t know what things in particular you are not agreeing with.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  2. wittywife August 25, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Hi John –

    I think this comment would fit better under my post for yesterday!

    I didn’t know you got tough on men in your post from today; I haven’t had time to read any blogs today yet!

    I agree – I think we definitely are both on the same page about what we’re trying to accomplish. I know what you’re doing; you’re giving the male perspective and I think it’s a great idea. Who am I to say what the male perspective is or isn’t? I just think in general, though, your tone isn’t directed toward the female audience. It’s harsh, aggressive, and negative. I think you can say the same thing in a different way, and in doing so, will attract more female readership. My two cents.

    • marriagecoach1 August 25, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

      I will heed your critique. You are not the first woman to tell me that I am too plain spoken.

      The problem is that most people play games and make you dig for their meaning, seldom stating what they mean in plain english. I have little patience with that.

      I prefer honest open dialogue. Now it is never easy to hear critique from anyone and many people act defensively and angry instead of dealing with the subject honestly and calmly.

      I am not deliberately offensive nor do I intend to be, but in my zeal I could learn to moderate my tone.

      I must confess that I have open hostiility to feminists who are counter productive. I have no problems with equality but the vast majority of feminists that I have encountered want not equality but total dominance over men. Does make me angry and I express that anger not at all women but feminists in particular.

      Blessings on you and yours
      John Wilder

  3. {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After August 29, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Just chiming in to say I really like this one – there’s something really simply sweet about noting that something bothers your spouse and then actively trying to change/stop it. Little things like this really do bless a marriage. I’ve got a few stop-annoying-Galen thing I’m working on, myself! Best of luck to us both, Witty Wife!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project #8: Update my Facebook photo to one of ‘us’ « The Marriage Project - August 31, 2010

    […] how Project #7 ended up? That’s the one where I promised to really and truly put the phone back on the charger; one of the things that really annoys my […]

Leave a Reply

