#9: Wash the dishes!

26 Aug

I’ll admit it up front. Doing the dishes makes me gag. Thinking about dirty old food and germy kitchen sponges is gross.  Most nights, my husband does the cooking, and he also does the dishes.

I know, I know! We should take turns; one person cooks, the other person does the dishes. I try to make up for it by making sure the baby is all fed, cleaned, in jammies and such by the time he is done the dishes.

And it’s not like it’s better this way because my husband is clueless about the baby. He’s not. He’s as much involved as I am taking care of the baby.

I need to do the dishes tonight, and more often in general. We’re having neighbors over tonight for some bacon wrapped filets, and my husband will be doing all the cooking. I’ve got to step up and do the dishes so he can enjoy some social time with the neighbors, too.

Hopefully I don’t gag too much. Maybe the secret is to dress up and wash dishes in heels like the lady in the picture.

Update #1: We just found out one of our guests is a vegetarian! I guess I need to leave work a little early and pick up something else!

Update #2: Dinner with the neighbors was amazing. We had a great time! My husband whipped up some appetizers and a great vegetarian dinner and all went well. Four bottles of wine later, and it was 11pm! Once the neighbors left, I told him I’d get started on the dishes. He said he’d rather me come to bed with him……..the rest you can guess.

(Curious how Project #8 worked out (updating my Facebook photo?)

12 Responses to “#9: Wash the dishes!”

  1. karyl33 August 26, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Love the old fashioned pictures you post.

    Tips: use gloves and/or a great smelling or really good dish liquid. Also burn scented candles to cut down on any bad smells. 🙂

    • wittywife August 26, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      Thank you for the tip. I feel so ridiculous admitting that doing the dishes makes me gag! Good tips though; I think I’ll be breaking out the candles tonight!

  2. Oscar August 26, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    For years it was she cooks, I clean. If you’re both working, you need to divy up the work. But I agree with you – cleaning sucks. Its much more work!!!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. missentregate August 26, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    The gloves really do help. I can’t stand doing dishes either I feel your pain.

    A tip for after the dinner party. I find when my husband and I do the dishes together it flies by and it gives us a chance to chat.

    Also putting on some music you can both groove to and/or sipping a glass of wine together while tidying up can make it feel a little more romantic and a little less …well gross.

    • wittywife August 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

      Oscar – I know you’re right. We do both work, but I need to do more in that area (of cleaning)!

      missentregate – good idea. We certainly love wine.. I think that’s definitely doable. Thank you!

  4. John Wilder August 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    There is nothing wrong with hubby doing the cooking and the dishes as long as you guys divvy up the housework, it reall does not matter how or who does it as long as you both contibute. You have a great man, I certainly hope that you take care of him sexually and not demand your right to say no at your whim. Men are easy, they need respect first, as well as admiration and appreciation and sex willingly and lovingly given by you. Keeps him happy and content and is great for your relationship, but I suspect that you already know that.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • wittywife August 27, 2010 at 9:54 am #

      Hi John –

      You’re right, we do divvy things up. For the most part, I do my fair share. I wanted to do the dishes, though, because even though he’s happy enough to do them, I’m sure he’d like a little break every now and then.

      Your sex comment, though… A little off topic, eh? And perhaps unsolicited as well? Did I bring up sex in my post? Have I brought up sex in any of my posts? Did I mention that we’re having sexual issues? I notice you bring up sex a LOT in your marriage counseling blog. I can’t help but wonder why. I certainly agree that sex is important in marriage. I venture to say that it’s even pretty high up on the list. I’ll give you that right off the bat. But if you suspect that I know that, I’m curious why you mentioned it. Sex does a lot of things, but it won’t (exclusively) get you through the day to day challenges of a marriage. I think if we were having sex challenges, the focus of this blog would be sex.

      And by the way, my husband would rather I ‘exercise my right’ to say no at my own whim. That doesn’t mean he doesn’t want sex, but he has no interest in pity sex of any kind. This is not an assumption. Imagine that. A man who can think with his penis AND his brain.

  5. missentregate August 27, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    *claps hands* take a bow wittywife 🙂

  6. nycgirlygirl72 September 10, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I really love this blog….keep up the good work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project #10: Be nicely dressed and happy when he gets home from work « The Marriage Project - August 27, 2010

    […] I’m also going to do those darn dishes. […]

  2. Project #11: Take out the trash « The Marriage Project - August 30, 2010

    […] about my Friday evening where I was going to get home before my husband, wash those darn dishes, and be dressed up nicely? Didn’t exactly go as planned. A surprise trip to the Emergency […]

Leave a Reply

