Mistake #1: I promised him a Corvette?

3 Sep

Mistake:

I promised my husband a Corvette. Sort of.

I’ve written about all of the good things I’m doing, but suppose I should own up to when I’ve screwed up.

Well I did. Big time.

As city dwellers, we only have one car. I picked it out when we went car shopping. It’s sensible. It fits all of us, and luggage should we take family trips. Which we do.

It’s becoming clear that with two kids, crappy public transportation, and two jobs in different places, it’s time to start looking for a second car. We just run into too many bumps in the road where I need to hit the store, or pick up the kids, or whatever, but I can’t since we don’t have a second car. My husband and I discussed this at length. We discussed when we’ll buy it, and how much it should cost. We set a cap on price.

Any because I love my husband so much, and he’s been so amazing and wonderful, and he’s been such a good provider, friend, lover, the whole nine yards, I told him to look around and pick something he likes, even if it’s a little ‘out there.’

He did. He picked a Corvette. The problem is, it only has two seats. He takes our son to daycare daily. He said he understood, and would only drive it on weekends, or days that I took the car and took the kiddo to daycare. He said it could be our ‘fun car.’

Ummmm.. well, yeah. The problem for me is that this involves too much coordination. There can’t be any “Shoot, I’m running late, can you get the kiddo from daycare?” conversations, because the one of us with the Corvette won’t be able to pick the kiddo up. Which means we still have no flexibility.

Though we’d have an awesome time on the weekend taking a daytrip when the kids are with a sitter.

I brought up the practicality issue of having a Vette today, and my husband said I sucked the wind out of his sails, and for me to just pick whatever.

I’m totally to blame here. I told him I wanted him to pick whatever he wanted. I just assumed he’d pick something he could drive everyday. And since he takes the kiddo to daycare almost every day (it’s on his way to work), I thought he’d choose something with four seats. I didn’t realize he was looking into a ‘play’ car. It’s my fault for not clarifying ahead of time, though.

He’s not mad at me, bless him. But he’s disappointed.  And he said I should just pick because he doesn’t want to deal with this anymore. And I feel like an ass. I love my husband to death and want to give HIM something when he gives me so much.

Here’s your chance to chime in. Help!

Update #1- September 3

I just called the husband since I’m leaving work early and I wanted to see if I should take the subway out and meet him, or just head home. He informed me, very casually, that he’s actually done for the day and at the Ford dealership next to his office checking out some cars. Whew. So I might not have to decide after all. I don’t want to!

Update #2 December 15 –

Well, I forgot to tell you all that we never bought the second car! Well, we DID buy a second car..an amazing Mercedes AMG. I should have known there was trouble when they were giving us a hard time about purchasing an additional full warranty with it, but we were able to. We had one GLORIOUS day with it before it DIED. My husband got it back to the dealership, and they essentially didn’t want to fix it. They gave us our money back. The next day, it was back on the lot (NOT a Mercedes dealership, I might add!). Sleezebags! Anyway, we have decided to pay off our current vehicle before going for another one.

(By the way, curious what my Marriage Project is all about?)

4 Responses to “Mistake #1: I promised him a Corvette?”

  1. John Wilder September 3, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    You told him to pick what he wanted and now you are pulling back from the promise. Sounds like you are too controlling to me. I would be pissed had you been married to me. The only acceptable answer is to let him have his vette.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • wittywife September 7, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      Hi John. Seems like you’re becoming a regular, here!

      This isn’t about control. If I was too controlling, I wouldn’t have said – “Hey, what do you think about getting a second car; and by the way, you get to pick it out!”

      Controlling would be – “I’ve decided we ARE getting a second car, and I’m deciding what it is.”

      I was actually trying to do something sweet for him. I really wanted him to have something nice. The problem, John, is that our daycare for our son is right next to his office. He takes our son to daycare every day. How did he plan on taking our son in a car with no backseat? Getting to choose anything you want is fine, but there’s also the reality of your life that you need to work with.

      It matters not. I did what you said (for different reasons, though) and told him to get the Vette. I told him I really wanted him to have it, and he should go shop around to find what he likes.

      He did a little car shopping on his own this weekend, and instead we ended up with a kick-ass Mercedes-Benz AMG.

      I guess he wasn’t all that pissed and didn’t think I was too controlling, or else he probably would have chosen a Vette out of spite. He’s got a good head on his shoulders.

      His choice.

  2. Mrs. C September 7, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    @John,
    Your response made me laugh out loud, “The only acceptable answer is to let him have his vette.” First off, you sound like a little boy stomping his foot and putting his fingers in his ears (“lalala! I can’t hear you!”). How is that the only acceptable answer? Shouldn’t marriage be about compromise? I don’t know about your wife, but in my marriage it’s about being a team and working together.

    Look at the post title: Mistake. Witty Wife knows this was a “Woops!” moment. But you know what? I bet her husband realized it didn’t make a whole lot of sense, later, too! Why would any man demand (in your case) a Corvette, when he wouldn’t be able to drive it?!

    It seems like you’ve been watching a little too much “Mad Men”. Witty Wife and her husband are both working, and sharing duties with picking up their kids. Is it unfortunate that it doesn’t make sense for him to have a Corvette? Absolutely! Geez, I think ANYONE would want to drive around in one! Does he DESERVE it just because she said, “Get whatever you want, even if it doesn’t make sense?” No. Come on now, sir. Use your noggin.

    And your “Blessings” at the end? Most patronizing thing I’ve ever seen. Might want to rethink commenting on posts with “Wow, you are so wrong. You kind of suck as a wife. But blessings on you and yours!!!” I don’t know about witty wife, but I’d tell you to take your blessings, and shove ’em where the sun don’t shine. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project #13: Cook my husband dinner « The Marriage Project - September 7, 2010

    […] to share, feel free! We have tons of chicken breast, so that might be a good starting point. And now that we have a second car, I can run to the grocery store quick after work to get what I need! […]

Leave a Reply

