#13: Cook my husband dinner

7 Sep

I burned pasta once. Can you come back from that, or am I doomed?

I can bake fairly decently, but cooking? eek.

Tonight I’ll be home before my husband, and I’m going to cook dinner for us. My husband loves to cook. And he’s very good at it. But I think he’d appreciate a night off, so I’m going to whip something up.

I’m combing the internet now, but if anyone has any (easy) recipes to share, feel free! We have tons of chicken breast, so that might be a good starting point. And now that we have a second car, I can run to the grocery store quick after work to get what I need! Hooray!

Note: this won’t help our marriage if I ruin dinner, so make your suggestions simple!

Update: Read the follow-up to learn more about my evening as a chef in the kitchen!

(By the way, curious what my Marriage Project is all about?)

7 Responses to “#13: Cook my husband dinner”

  1. John Wilder September 7, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Here is a super easy recipe for seafood al fredo.

    Traditional al fredo sauces are heavy cream and lots of butter sometimes equalling the cream, You can have big flavor without all the calories and fat grams and all you have to do is boil water.

    Get a pound of shell on shrimp, prefewrably with the head on and a small lobster about 11/2 pounds. Put 8 cups of water to boil in a large pot and then place the seafood in for about 8 minutes until they turn color. Remove with a slotted spoon and allow the water to keep boiling. Peel the shells and or heads off the shrimp and remove lobster meat from the shells and place all shells and body of the lobster back in the boiling water and keep rapidly boiling the water until it is reduced down to half a cup. Strain shells out of water and reserve the now very rich stock. Take two 16 oz tubs of non fat sour cream and combine with rich stock and heat just until it simmers. Place seafood back in sauce and place two tablespoons of butter and a tsp of garlic powder in the sauce and stir well.

    You should also have another pot of water boiling and place a pound box of fettucini noodles in and cook al dente, aqbo9ut 10 minutes, Drain but do not rinse the pasta. Serve seafood sauce over pasta and sprinkle some chopped green onions for garnish and additional flavor. He will rave at your cooking prowess. You don’t have to tell him that all you did was to boil water.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • wittywife September 7, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      That actually sounds delicious..but wouldn’t you know, my husband’s allergic to shellfish.

      I need to stick with chicken (or maybe steak… I think I have some fillets in the freezer.)

  2. missentregate September 7, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    do you have a slow cooker? crock pot? The recipe I made yesterday turned out really nice and it was easy!!

  3. aseriousattempt September 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Just stopping in to check out your blog! I added you to my blogroll. Hope you don’t mind. 🙂

    • wittywife September 7, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Not at all! I hope you like!

      I’ll add you to mine as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Follow-up to Project #13 – Cook my husband dinner « The Marriage Project - September 8, 2010

    […] Cook my husband dinner […]

Leave a Reply

