Marriage Project – Assessment #3

15 Sep

You’ve been reading my Marriage Projects Steps for a month now. What do you think? Is it working?

I’m long overdue for an ‘assessment’ type post.

For anyone new here that needs to catch up, check out my first post where I describe my Marriage Project.

Also, feel free to check out all the posts of the Marriage Project so far on one easy-to-read page.

What this blog is not:

  • This is not a ‘big picture blog. I ‘get’ that there’s the big picture when it comes to marriage. In my completing all of these little tasks, I’m not avoiding the big picture or refusing to see it. But there are already a ton of websites that focus on marriage in general. I’ve read a ton of them.
  • This is not a theoretical blog.  There are also many websites on how theoretically to be nice to your partner and serve your partner. I’ve seen those to. What I’m doing here is trying to put those ‘theoreticals’ into action.
  • This is not a blog predominantly featuring sex. There are already a ton of ‘sex in marriage’ blogs. You don’t need another one. I know sex is a really, really, really important part of marriage, so I’ll just leave it at the fact that I’ve already made a commitment to make and keep that a priority a long time ago. Things are just fine and dandy on that end!

Recent thoughts:

  • Things have been GREAT between me and my husband lately. A lot of these little projects I set out to do to make my husband happy. But BONUS! They’ve made me feel good as well!
  • Me being in a better mood has helped HIM be in a better mood. I’m trying hard not to be a grouch!

What I need from you, dear readers:

  • I’d love any ideas on what projects I should do next! I’d love to get a list going in advance! Tell me what I should do next!
  • Are YOU doing something that would be a great addition to this blog? Tell me about it, and I’ll feature your project as a guest project!

Post recap since my last assessment:

Feedback! How am I doing? Tell me below!

2 Responses to “Marriage Project – Assessment #3”

  1. karyl33 September 15, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    I think you are doing great. I find your blog inspirational. There are two things I try to do that you might be interested in.

    1) If I disagree with my husband or want him to change something, I’ve tried to involve God. Why nag when I can pray?!!
    2) I’ve tried to stop wanting to have the last word or “win” an argument. I’m looking at the bigger picture of winning. Winning is a peaceful home. If I shut up and my husband “wins,” I “win” too. This goes along with choosing my battles as well.

    • wittywife September 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      Aww, thanks Karyl!

      My husband and I are Catholic; we actually went through confirmation together a few years ago, as we never finished when we were kids. We pray together every night for dinner, but I’m afraid to say I could be a better Catholic. I’m a bit lapsed in communicating with God.

      Good point on arguing. With me, I like to have the last word not so much so that I can win, but so that he gets the point that he can’t get his own wall all the time, or bully me into submission. Not that he does those things, but even still…. I think lately I have been doing a much better job of letting things go, before it really even reaches the stage of ‘argument.’

Leave a Reply

