Situation #2: How to deal with watching a Yankees documentary when you really want to watch The Biggest Loser

22 Sep

Source: AP

Last night, we got the kiddo to be and were both getting settled in to watch The Biggest Loser, a show we both love. While waiting for it to start, the husband was flipping through the channels directory. While flipping, he suddenly paused, but didn’t say anything.

I took a closer look and then I saw it: ESPN’s 30 for 30 was presenting a short documentary on the Yankees. More specifically, Yankee Stadium and George Steinbrenner called ‘The House of Steinbrenner.’ I immediately said, “You should put that on; i bet it will be good!”

Of course, he looked at me incredulously. I’m a Boston Red Sox fan, having grown up in New England. He’s a New York Yankees fan, being born in Connecticut. We’re pretty fierce about our rivalry. We’ve actually adopted our local MLB team as ‘our’ team because we can’t be in the same room together discussing the Sox or the Yankees.

But hey, I’m a baseball fan above all, and I knew how much he must have wanted to watch it.

So we watched The House of Steinbrenner. And boy was it good! I learned a lot about George Steinbrenner; I never knew he was actually a really giving person. I watched as my husband winced when they showed clips of the old Yankees Stadium being torn down. There was a lot of emotion in the documentary; and as a baseball fan above all, I thought it was pretty great!

(And since The Biggest Loser was two hours long, we got to see the end of that as well.)

Photobucket
14 Responses to “Situation #2: How to deal with watching a Yankees documentary when you really want to watch The Biggest Loser”

  1. karyl33 September 22, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Isn’t it wonderful when you put someone else first you are rewarded? Not just because you liked the show too but because of the joy of giving. You are an inspiration of graciousness! Thank you.

    • wittywife September 22, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      Thanks Karyl, but ohmygosh I’m not! I’m sure for every thing I do right I do 5 things wrong!

      I’m just trying real hard! I love my husband to pieces, I just want him to be so happy!

  2. Andrea Simpson - Conflicted Mean Girl September 22, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Two more things we have in common:

    Red Sox fan
    Biggest Loser lover

    I’m sure what you missed last night will be recapped next week since it was just introduction to contestants.

    That is some serious patience to sit through the Steinbrenner 30 for 30. The Sports Guy tweeted about it and I winced.

    • wittywife September 22, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Yay! Go Sox! (Well, probably not this year.)

      I got to watch the tail end of last night’s Biggest Loser.. I think I saw the tryouts in Phoenix and Boston. I loved the guy in Boston from NY who’s been married for twenty something years… did you see how proud his family looked of him? I’m so glad he made it on.

      As for 30 for 30? It wasn’t that bad. Perhaps I’m becoming softer about my hatred for the Yankees because of my husband. It’s hard to be mean about something your husband really really loves!

  3. Raven September 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Just read your entire blog…now I’m sad there is no more to read :). Have been doing my own projects here and there lately it is making a world of difference. Happily you’ve inspired a few more ideas.

    Will definitely keep reading 🙂

    • wittywife September 22, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Thanks for the note! Wow, you read the whole thing? Thank you! Feel free to comment with any more ideas or suggestions! I’ve just subscribed to your blog as well. Hopefully I can get a few ideas, too.

      • Raven September 22, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

        Actually I just write poetry and random stuff there. It’s also a way to help deal with my past since therapists have all been a bust to date. So it may not be that interesting. I will comment with things I think of here though. 🙂

        • wittywife September 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

          Gotcha. Well, I’ve still bookmarked you; I’ll head over from time to time, and I appreciate you visiting and commenting!

  4. Paige Morgan September 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Seriously, you are a great wife! I think the best I could have done was TIvo it or tell him to watch it in the other room! 😉

    • wittywife September 22, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      Aww, thanks so much! I really appreciate it, and it means a lot!

  5. Nicole September 22, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Giving up the Biggest Loser for Baseball?? Now THAT was selfless love!! 🙂

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 7:17 am #

      Haha, I LOVE The Biggest Loser, but I’d give it up for my own team, too. Especially now that the baseball season is winding down.

  6. got2havefaith September 22, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Seriously, you are really a baseball fan! But really it’s all about give and take with the remote.

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 7:19 am #

      🙂 Thank goodness we’re pretty good. We never have remote problems. He often sees something ‘girly’ that I might like, and I might see something scary or dramatic he might like and put it on.

      This was such a big deal because it was, well, the YANKEES.

Leave a Reply

