#20: Put on a skimpy maid outfit and clean the house

23 Sep

Put on a skimpy maid outfit and clean the house.

Last night my husband and I got into a mini-argument over finances (namely how we were going to allocate certain funds to pay certain things.) Anyway, when he gets a little frustrated with me, it tends to all hang loose, and he got on my case about doing more chores around the house.

Now, this is confusing to me, because when things are happy, he always tells me he’s happy and thanks me for sharing duties with him.

Well, we made up last night, no problem, and he even apologized for being cranky. I apologized for just not letting it go and going round in circles.

But I still had a nagging feeling – Am I not doing enough around the house lately? Even though he’s happy now and wouldn’t say the same thing today, is there some truth to it?

Well let’s dig deeper:

  • I have a habit of doing many many loads of laundry at once, but then not folding them. They often stay in a basket, and then we can’t remember if the basket is clean or dirty, and I wash them again!
  • I could be (much) better about the kitty litter.
  • I could unpack our clothes from vacation.
  • I could tidy up my part of the bedroom closet a bit.

Okay, so there’s my answer. There IS stuff I can be doing.

So tonight, I’m going to leave work at 4:30, but instead of heading out to meet him after work and get the kiddo, I’ll take the train home and get started on some of these chores. And perhaps dinner.

Maybe he’ll notice, maybe he won’t, but hopefully next time we have an argument about something not related, he won’t feel the need to bring up me being messy!

Photobucket

(The Marriage Project so far)

15 Responses to “#20: Put on a skimpy maid outfit and clean the house”

  1. karyl33 September 23, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I have to say that your title got my attention and I expected a different blog entry! It’s nice to know that you argue. Honestly, with all the great things you do I imagined that you never argue. Silly of me! If you are a normal married couple you argue. Of course arguing well is anart. That will be a post of mine one day…

    Anyway, I’m also glad to know that I am not the only with laundry problems. I fold it but it still sits in the basket. My solution? Buy more baskets. 🙂

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      Haha! Well, the maid outfit could be fun, but considering I’m going to be getting home BEFORE him to do all this cleaning, it’d be wasted on just me!

      Oh, we argue! I think, though, what’s great about this blog is that it’s always got me trying to think positively. It forces me, daily, to think positively, rather than getting caught up in the bad crap.

      We used to argue TERRIBLY. He’s always right. I’m always right. And that caused problems! We actually set groundrules to fighting that helped incredibly.

      As far as the laundry, I’m hopeless. I hate folding. But I really need to get my act together. When my husband does laundry, he doesn’t separate colors! He probably does it on purpose so I WILL do the laundry, which really should be ‘my’ job with all the other things he does.

      • karyl33 September 23, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

        please share your arguing ground rules if you can. 🙂

  2. In like Flynn September 23, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Arguments bring out the stupid stuff. We all are frustrated about certain things that our spouse does and does not do. Dont beat yourself up. Working wife mother lover friend – now thats a big chore in itself. I feel you on the laundry thing. I can do loads and loads but hate HATE folding and putting them away . . or :eh hmm: I always put the dishes in the sink full of water like Im “going” to wash them and leave them there. Oops my bad 🙂

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      Hey, you’re one step ahead of me. I barely touch the dishes! I can’t stand them!

    • karyl33 September 23, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      my husband is famous for soaking the dishes! he rarely washes but boy is he a great soaker! every bit helps…

  3. John Wilder September 23, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    You have self defined areas where you could improve. Juat go ahead and do it and you will feel better about yourself. Make a positive contribution. The clothes won’t fold themselves and put themselves away.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      Well, I intend on doing it. That was the point of this post!

  4. got2havefaith September 23, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    My bet is that he will not notice you did the laundry or changed the kitty litter. But I guarantee he’d notice if you did actually wear the maid outfit! Funny my hubby and I just got into a fight about laundry on Monday…him not folding the clothes as they come out of the dryer, me throwing a fit because of it. Even though I ask him every time to do so, he refuses to listen to me. Or he just doesn’t care. I see it more than a load of laundry. I see he is not hearing me with a (very reasonable) request. He sees it as just laundry, which is now very wrinkled. Funny how a load of laundry can cause a knock-down-drag-out fight.

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      I’ll have to get one of those outfits…….

      But seriously, he MAY notice the cat box! I think he’s super sensitive to it because when I was pregnant, he had to do it.

      And now I’m feeling bad about the laundry. It’s unofficially MY job… Why can’t I just get it folded (and put away?) Thanks for the kick in the pants.

  5. Paige Morgan September 23, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    Clean, the house, THEN put on the maids outfit… I am sure he’ll be very happy then!

    • wittywife September 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

      Geez, I think I need to get one of those! I know he’d like it!

  6. Nicole September 24, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    I can so relate to this one… After working all day, I do NOT feel like cleaning… at all! I have to make myself a list or else the house would just never get cleaned.

  7. Raven September 24, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Laundry get’s cleaned…almost never put away. Since I do all the laundry I leave his to put away and he doesn’t do it so he can’t get on my case about me not doing it.
    And we both get that neither of us wants to clean when we get home from work so we do it together on the weekends. I do maintenance to keep the house from getting condemned since he’s technically not there…but major cleaning is done togehter so neither of us can say the other does nothing.
    And on the sexy outfit…if I would have money I would have bought a sexy nurse outfit to tend to him when he had his concussion but I didn’t :(. He LOVED the idea though :).

Leave a Reply

