#21 – Put on my big girl pants and deal with things

29 Sep

Those ‘things’ I need to deal with? Me. The apartment.

Me

After the crazy night which was last night, plus my recent bout of insomnia over the past week, and an exhausting work trip earlier this week, I kind of felt like I was losing my cool and, well, I wasn’t feeling exactly composed. Today, I used a sick day from work to get some sleep and recharge. I slept until 10am and it felt fantastic.

The apartment

Our house is one big ole’ mess. It’s not particularly DIRTY, but it’s cluttered. Too cluttered. This is essentially my doing; I keep too much stuff. Today? My mission is to literally go through our stuff and throw away the CRAP and get this place organized. It’s a little daunting, but heck, we’re in the city, we only have 1,000 square feet. I think I can do this!

So what does this do for my husband and/or our marriage?

  • A crazy sleep-deprived me is not very much fun to be around. I want to get my act together so I can be a bit, well, ‘nicer’ to my husband.
  • My crazy clutteredness drives my poor husband up the wall. To read more about it, check out my post on the Pile of Doom.
  • Me being home from work today means I can get dinner started before he gets home. Let’s hope that goes swimmingly. I’ve done it before, I can do it again.

Wish me luck. I have about 7 hours to get the job done before he gets home.

6 Responses to “#21 – Put on my big girl pants and deal with things”

  1. In like Flynn September 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Good Luck!

    • wittywife September 29, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      So far it’s going okay! I’ve managed to get a LOT accomplished. I’ve also managed to ruin two blue towels in the washing machine. I threw our vinyl shower curtains in the wash with some bleach to clean off some of the buildup, not realizing there were two towels in the bottom of the machine already.
      Oops.
      They’re now sort of blue, sort of pink , and sort of light pink in spots. I just ran them through again with a lot of bleach hoping to get them just one color, whatever that color might be! Only a minor catastrophe.

      • In like Flynn September 29, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

        Hmm well now think of it this way – now you have tye dye towels 🙂 they go with everything!

  2. Raven September 29, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I’m here…wishing you good luck.

    • wittywife September 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

      Thanks! I got most of the major household stuff done and thawed some steak for dinner.

      I’m now finally ‘relaxing’ and folding some laundry!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project #22: Let him sleep in this weekend « The Marriage Project - September 30, 2010

    […] I stayed home from work, partly because I was sick, partly because I just needed rest, and partly to clean up the darn house a bit. I helped the husband get the little guy ready for daycare, and when they left at 7:00am, I went […]

Leave a Reply

