APB: My husband and I are going on a trip, and I need your help!

14 Oct

Suggestions, please, dear friends. My husband and I haven’t been away together overnight since our baby was born almost a year ago, and tomorrow we’re flying to a friend’s wedding.

We’ll have two whole nights alone together.

So here are my plans so far:

  • Don’t talk about the kids too much
  • Don’t get so tired at the wedding that we crash as soon as we get back to our room
  • Have uninterrupted sex

That’s all I’ve got. Any thoughts on little things I can do for him while we’re away?

(Curious what my Marriage Project is all about?)

13 Responses to “APB: My husband and I are going on a trip, and I need your help!”

  1. Paige Morgan October 14, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Some thoughts – cute sleepwear. If he likes to sleep in and you like to up early, run and bring him back his favorite coffee. If he likes to get up early, I’d say consider getting up with him, but you need your rest to mama! But could you find an activity (outside of wedding stuff) that would be especially fun for him. Also, don’t know if you’re flying or driving, but how about a playlist on the i-Pod that he would love.

    Have fun!

  2. wittywife October 14, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Those are some good thoughts, Paige. He loves coffee, so I think that’s a good idea.

    I almost wish it were a road trip, but it’s a 10 hour drive. It’s only a 1 1/2 hour flight. The problem is that apparently tomorrow there’s supposed to be a nor’easter in New England; I’m wondering if our flight may be canceled.

    In some ways, I almost hope it is. I’ve asked our babysitter to still sit even if it’s canceled, and if that’s the case, I plan on taking my husband out in the city where we live for some drinks and dining, and then overnight in a swanky hotel. SOOOO worth the money to have some alone time with my man. Then perhaps out to a vineyard for the day? (We both live wine.) That would be awesome, too. Watching and waiting on the weather.

  3. Rivki @ Life in the Married Lane October 14, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Plan sounds good to me. I’m trying to remember if my husband and I have had a night together without kid(s) since, well, we had kids. I’m with Paige on the cute sleepwear. Have fun with it!

    Any other fun things…I’m not sure. Get him a little gift. Or give him a backrub! Everyone loves a backrub. Fluff his pillows. Get him some relaxing bath oil and take a bath.

    Enjoy!!!

  4. givingglory October 14, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    I’m thinking that simply having a babysitter and a night away is going to bring back a spark and be super fun! Not to mention that the romantic tone will be set with a wedding (perhaps you could reflect on your wedding day or vows), a hotel (how fun is that? woo hoo!) and no kids (whatever will you do with yourselves? lol) You likely won’t need to “do” anything special but just enjoy the time alone together.

    Hope you have a fabulous time – bad weather or not!

    Sherrie

    p.s. Thanks so much for the comment you left on my blog! 😉

  5. Nicole October 15, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Have FUN!

  6. Mrs. C. October 15, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    If you get a moment away from him, go grab a bottle of champagne from a nearby store and keep it in the room fridge, or just on ice. When you get home from the wedding, pop the bubbly, and celebrate your OWN marriage!!

    • Mrs. C. October 15, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      when you get *back* from the wedding. 🙂 type-o.

  7. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife October 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Perhaps hand him a note right before you walk into the wedding with something sweet and fun you’d like to do later, if you know what I mean 😉 Then he can’t ask you what it’s all about when you’re around all the people.

    Have a wonderful night away!

  8. Raven October 15, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I’d definitely go have fun at the lingerie store.

    Order room service if you can afford it. I don’t know why but that was so much fun when we did that.

    Do something you used to do when you were dating but maybe don’t do anymore?

    That’s all I got…

  9. karyl33 October 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    My idea is a nice long walk together. There’s just something about walking together. Love the cute sleepwear idea too!

  10. D.Rene. October 15, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    I found your blog by way of Paige and I’m glad I did. I just want to support you in not tiring yourself out so that you and your hubby have great nights!!!

  11. Andrea Simpson - Conflicted Mean Girl October 17, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I don’t have anything to offer that hasn’t already been said, but I like the idea of cute sleepwear. I wouldn’t have thought of that one. We haven’t had an overnight without our little one so I have no idea what I’d do. It would be a miracle if we could both stay awake.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project #25: Bust out my OCD cleaning planner (and wedding weekend follow-up) « The Marriage Project - October 19, 2010

    […] of you may be wondering about our weekend at our friend’s wedding and how it went. It went AMAZINGLY! Thank you everyone for all of your […]

Leave a Reply

