#26: Will work for guacamole

20 Oct

Those of you who are new or don’t happen to visit very often must be thinking, “This is boring. Fold the laundry, send him a card, draw him a picture, let him pick the Netflix this time…Where’s the excitement? Where’s the one key to making marriage awesome?”

Well, for starters, last night I started folding a huge pile of laundry, which I absolutely hate doing, and do you know what? My dear husband made me a huge bowl of guacamole (my fav!) not as a reward for doing laundry, but because he knows how much I hate doing it, saw me doing it, and wanted to do a little something nice for me! Now tell me that didn’t help our marriage on a small scale?!?

I didn’t, however, finish folding, because we got a bit busy watching the Yankees game last night. I have to finish that darn laundry tonight! I don’t want to hear, “You didn’t finish it? But I made you guacamole!!” (That would be him jesting, of course.)


Some helpful links if you’re new here:

 

What is this Marriage Project all about?

Archive of my more recent posts

My self assessments on how this blog is working out so far (Assessment #3 spells out why I chose to make this a little details blog as opposed to a big picture marriage blog.)

And of course, don’t forget to join me on Facebook by clicking the picture below!


10 Responses to “#26: Will work for guacamole”

  1. John Wilder October 20, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I will repeat my previous advice. You could have folded the laundry while watching the game with hubby. You seem to be too easily distracted from doing something that you don’t like. Learn to multi task. Watching the game could have made folding the laundry less onerous, but you chose to use watching the game as an excuse to not do it. Had you foled the laundry load by load instead of putting it off, it would not seem so bad.

    If it is important to him, show him respect by making it important to you. Romance him by doing things that he values, not what you value.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder
    John Wilder

    • wittywife October 20, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      So, do you hate all women in general and feel the need to put them in their place?

      You’re right. I could have continued to fold the laundry, but I didn’t. The Yankees are my husband’s team, NOT mine, and he asked me to watch it with him. I can tell you right now with 100% certainty that the Yankees are more important to him than me folding a load of laundry.

      “If it is important to him, show him respect by making it important to you. Romance him by doing things that he values, not what you value.” I did. I hate the Yankees, but watched and encouraged them anyway.

      But thanks again for the negative, smarmy, condescending comment.

      • Raven October 21, 2010 at 10:24 am #

        Don’t let him get to you. You are doing amazing!

        • wittywife October 21, 2010 at 10:29 am #

          Thanks. As you’ll see on Project #25’s comment thread, I had to ban him. His comments are just seriously too negative, and not really all that helpful.

          • Raven October 21, 2010 at 11:26 am #

            I saw him tell a friend of mine that “a diamond is an outward expression of how he feels about you. It should cost a minimum of a month’s salary and preferably two months salary.It is an outward expression to you and all who know you. Don’t settle for less. Without it, it says that he really does not care all…” So I wouldn’t trust his values on marriage.

            You on the other hand inspire people in all the right ways, I think. I hope everything you are doing reaches a lot of people. Even though I’d already started working on myself for my marriage you’ve inspired me to do more. I mean it…you are doing amazing. 🙂

            • wittywife October 21, 2010 at 11:47 am #

              WOW! One month’s salary, maybe two? Without it, your husband doesn’t really care at all? Incredible. Seriously. This coming from a man who walked away from $12,000 debt because the “companies were so aggressive with late fees, and those really downgraded my credit rating.” If you can’t pay your bills on time, don’t spend money you don’t have. And don’t walk away from your debt; it’s irresponsible. Not that I ever had much respect for him, but his gloating about his own irresponsibility and how it was the credit card company’s fault is just a little over the top.

              I love my ring! It’s not small, it’s not huge, it’s what it ought to be, and what it ought to be is whatever my husband wanted to get at the time. And seriously? Once we got married, my money was his money and his my was my money. I’d rather not start off out marriage in debt, and we didn’t, thank goodness.

              Thanks so much for your kind words. John really was very negative and just put me in a foul mood. I’m trying to keep this blog positive; positive things I can do for my marriage, positive things other people can take away from what I’m learning. I appreciate what you’ve said! Feel free to also ‘like’ me on Facebook and share with your friends!

  2. In like Flynn October 20, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    mmmm Guacamole! Thats awesome 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage Project Assessment #4 – Bake, Cook, Ego-Boost and Clean your way to a Happier Marriage « The Marriage Project - October 21, 2010

    […] my cleaning planner. I did some dishes, got dinner started, got coffee ready for the morning, and finished folding the laundry. I had quite a bit done before he even got home. We watched the rest of the Yankees game together […]

Leave a Reply

