Situation #7: You know how you have to argue something to the very end on principle alone?

22 Oct

Yeah, well, you don’t.

Don’t argue it and bring it up to death, even on principle alone, (unless it’s something you feel SO strongly about that you will divorce them unless they somehow see your reasoning and agree with you.)

Pick your battles.

I picked the wrong one last night (again) and kind of feel like an ass idiot.

You live and you learn.

And I’m trying to learn to bite my tongue when it’s not a big deal, or even if it is a big deal but not worth getting into a huge fight over.

6 Responses to “Situation #7: You know how you have to argue something to the very end on principle alone?”

  1. Nicole October 23, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    Yeah, that’s a tough one. It’s hard when two people are very opinionated. I’m learning how to pick my battles as well. 🙂

  2. missentregate October 23, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    I’m guilty of this more than I’d like to admit. Sometimes something will irritate me SO much that I argue it to death. It’s a struggle between letting it go and not over reacting and letting it go and not feeling like I’m stifling my voice…. or something….Like I want to be a strong outspoken person… but not argue for the sake of arguing.

  3. wittywife October 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Thanks guys.

    I was going to apologize later Friday night when he got home.

    Wouldn’t you know it, when he came home Friday night, he had flowers for ME. He felt bad for arguing as well. I apologized, and we agreed to disagree, and I feel so much better now.

    We just had a really great weekend together. Whew!

    If I had resorted to my old ways, I would have fought to the death; I would have been afraid that if I didn’t, I would be somehow agreeing with his side of things.

    This time, I’m trying to remember that we’re a team. We’re on the same side, even if we don’t see eye to eye 100% of the time.

  4. Rivki @ Life in the Married Lane October 25, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Wow – he had flowers for you! Major hubby points there. This is such a tricky thing to master sometimes, especially if emotions are running high. And then sometimes, in the course of a disagreement, you wonder what the goal really is. Love the Calvin and Hobbes image, btw.

  5. Paige Morgan October 27, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Witty wife, you are again Wise Wife. I am still practicing biting my tounge! I have a mouth full of blood and still can’t let it go sometimes! Keep guiding us oh wise one!

    • wittywife October 28, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks so much, Paige!

      I actually had a little bone to pick this morning with my husband, and I wanted to rush in to work and send him a stern email as soon as I got in!

      Then two things happened!
      1) I saw your comment to my own post about this very issue!
      2) Saw an email in my inbox from him telling me he loves me and can’t wait to see me later.

      Needless to say, rather than just jumping in with a stern email, I kept my mouth shut and gave myself some time to decompress. And what do you know, the issue this morning that I thought was just SO bad and had to be addressed is really a non-issue. Glad I kept my mouth shut and didn’t start a fight!

      Hooray for thinking before speaking!

Leave a Reply

