#29: What should we do everyday with our spouse but sometimes don’t?

5 Nov

Kiss. That’s right. KISS.

My husband and I are definitely in love, and definitely happy. But it dawned on me recently that sometimes a day will go by where we haven’t kissed at all. AT ALL!!

How can that be? He often jumps right out of bed to go to the gym in our building. When he gets back, I’m getting the kiddo ready for daycare, so he showers. Then all of a sudden it’s time for him to head out the door and it’s ends up as sort of a rushed, “Have a nice day!”

Same at night; he starts dinner, I feed the baby, we play with the baby, we watch a little tv or do some talking, and then we pass out cold.

Do you have any little routines or traditions you love in your marriage? We have one I love; it’s called ‘Family Time’, and as soon as we’re all home, we all pile up onto the bed and just chill for a few minutes. It helps as parents unwind for five minutes after a long day before jumping into dinner, baths, and whatever else we need to get done. We get to tickle and cuddle and play with the little one, and my daughter (if she is with us and not at her dad’s house) will tell us all about her day. It’s a great time.

So in the spirit of happy traditions, the other night while my husband and I were talking, I asked him if we could start a new tradition. It went something like this:

Me: So, I was thinking….

Husband: Uh oh….

Me: No no, this is good! I’m not about to tell you that you did something wrong.

Husband: Okay…

Me: I was thinking we could start a new tradition. Let’s make sure we kiss at least once in the morning, and at least once at night. And I mean a NICE kiss. Not just a quick unthoughtful kiss.

Husband: Yeah, but we do that already.

Me: Do we?

Husband: Hmm.. Maybe you’re right…..

So with that, our new kissing routine was born. And I’ll tell you, it’s great! We spent some nice time last night kissing like teenagers before bed! And this morning, as he was leaving for work, we hugged, and then he remembered and gave me a big kiss.

This sounds silly and simplistic, but think about the implications if you DON’T kiss for long stretches. I think it makes it that much harder to be intimate in general, and especially if you’re stressed, have had an argument, or something of the like. I think NOT kissing allows the distance between a couple to grow, which is never a good thing.

Be honest; how often do you kiss your spouse/partner?

6 Responses to “#29: What should we do everyday with our spouse but sometimes don’t?”

  1. Mrs. C November 5, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    The word “smother” comes to mind…

    Haha! Okay, not really. But we do kiss probably 5+ times a day. I think because Mr. C and I have been together since we were teenagers, we still ACT like teenagers sometimes. Kissing is definitely a big thing for me, and I don’t think there has ever gone a day without kissing! 🙂 Whether it’s heartfelt kisses before bed, or sneak attacks while watching TV (I usually yell out, “SMOOCHERS!!!” before kissing him all over his face…no lie), it’s a BIG part of our relationship. 🙂

    • wittywife November 5, 2010 at 9:48 am #

      Haha, that’s awesome! I have NO doubt that it helps keep you two close!!

  2. Nicole November 6, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    Loved this and will be incorporating it in my marriage. 🙂

    • wittywife November 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      So simple, but I think it’s so important, too.

  3. Rivki @ Life in the Married Lane November 8, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    That’s sweet. A really sweet tradition.

Leave a Reply

