#31: The obligatory pre-Thanksgiving post: What are you thankful for?

9 Nov

Credit - IKEA.com

What’s a good way to keep track of all the things we’re thankful for as Thanksgiving draws closer? I don’t know, but my friend Mrs. C. emailed me with a great idea.

She passed on a fantastic project from one of our favorite blogs, Young House Love. In today’s blog post, John describes how he and his wife, Sherry, created their own jar for writing about what they’re thankful for. Each day, they’ll write something on a piece of paper that they’re Thankful for, and on Thanksgiving, they’ll read them.

No peeking until Thanksgiving!

I’m going to adapt this project for my family, as well. This weekend on a trip to IKEA, I bought several glass jars, one of which is still empty and will do the trick (see picture above.)

I will not be etching the glass as John and Sherry did, as I’m not that creative, and I’d probably etch right through our counters. Better to not ruin my apartment.

I think my husband will play along, as he’s all about building family traditions as of lately. This could be a good one.

Here’s YHL’s finished jar:

 

Credit: YoungHouseLove.com

So now I have to get thinking… what am I thankful for? There’s lots that I’m thankful for; that we both have jobs, that we’re all healthy, etc, but I’d like to find more specific examples of smaller things I’m thankful for as well.

What are you thankful for?

Updates: I had every intention of doing this, but life sort of got in the way. There’s always next year.

5 Responses to “#31: The obligatory pre-Thanksgiving post: What are you thankful for?”

  1. Mrs. C November 9, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Hey, I think it’s a GREAT idea…go figure, haha!

    • wittywife November 9, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

      Thank you!!!

      I got NO traffic on this post! lol.
      Was it that terrible and overdone?

      • Mrs. C November 9, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

        I actually didn’t have it pop up in my FB news feed for some reason, so I didn’t see it for about 2 hours. Maybe it is overdone, but I’m still going to give it a go! 🙂

  2. Nicole November 10, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    I thought about doing something like that! Maybe I still will! 🙂

  3. Rivki @ Life in the Married Lane November 10, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I haven’t seen this at all, so I don’t think overdone applies! I love this idea. Friends of mine have done things like keep a gratitude journal to keep track. What am I grateful for? It’s too much to pick one! I’ll go with the traditional health and family.

Leave a Reply

