#34: “I’m surprised you haven’t somehow contaminated me with this food and sent me to an untimely death.”

18 Nov

Credit: Food Network

Ok, that’s not really what my husband said, but I imagine that’s what he was thinking as he said, “Wow, honey, dinner is great tonight.”

You all know I’m not the best cook, and for the most part don’t even really like to cook (since it involved making a mess, then cleaning said mess.)

On Tuesday, I stayed home with the kiddo because our daycare was closed. I can barely cook dinner when I concentrate, so imagine my horror when I realized I’d have to take a crack at it with my 11 month old half walking, half crawling around everywhere. I’m not a big fan of just sticking him in the playyard or the exersaucer; I feel bad, plus he just screams at the top of his lungs anyway.

But since I was home with him, there was no excuse for me not to have dinner on the table when my husband got home.

I ended up trying out some honey mustard chicken. I didn’t even think to marinade it ahead of time; I just threw together some Dijon mustard and honey in a bowl, and swirled the thawed chicken breast around in there for a few minutes. I threw them in a pan stovetop and cooked ’em on up. I think what helped was throwing a little more honey on them RIGHT at the end.

Served with baked brussels sprouts (ends cut, cut in half, in olive oil with a tad of mustard) that I baked in the oven at 400 degrees for, oh, I don’t know, forever, it seemed like!

But, seriously, he LIKED my dinner! I’m getting pretty decent at this whole ‘wife’ thing!


Some other things:

 

3 Responses to “#34: “I’m surprised you haven’t somehow contaminated me with this food and sent me to an untimely death.””

  1. Nicole November 19, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Making dinner can be stressful and I can’t imagine doing it with a toddler running around! 🙂 But it’s so rewarding when it comes out good! So way to go!!

    • wittywife November 19, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      Yep. It IS stressful, especially when you know you can’t cook to save your life. I dare say I’m getting better, though!

  2. Todd Pack November 19, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    Congratulations! Sometimes, the best meals are the ones you just throw together!

Leave a Reply

