#36: Small steps…like buying your husband a birthday gift

6 Dec

Credit: elevenstitches.com

I had a minor setback. Not with my marriage, really. We haven’t been fighting, things have been good. But since Thanksgiving, things have been just ‘off.’ And for no particular reason, really. I think we just suddenly got very busy.

The business of Thanksgiving (which my dear friend and neighbor hosted) is the start of the crazy holiday season. We watched The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade while preparing side dishes for Thanksgiving, then we went to our friend’s house where we we ate yummy corn bread, creamy peas (with bacon!), brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes,  mostly done turkey, and amazing dessert! It was an great time.

And then, something happened. It’s been Christmas shopping, shopping for my daughter’s birthday, shopping for my son’s birthday, shopping for my husband’s birthday, preparing for my family’s visit this weekend… The list doesn’t end…

And I think I’ve been out of sync with my husband. Not in any bad way; we haven’t fought, argued, nothing of the sort. We’re just both busy and it’s catching up to us. And since I’ve felt a little ‘off’, I haven’t felt like writing.

But it’s a mistake. It’s a mistake not to write, because that is the POINT of this blog. The point is to work on small things I can do on a DAILY basis for my marriage and for my husband. I’ve been working on the little things, especially when things are good. I work on them especially when things are good because that’s the time when couples tend to relax and not work as hard on their marriage since it’s gliding along so smoothly.

Common sense should tell me that when things are slightly out of sync, that’s probably the time to pick up the pace on my small daily projects, which I have not been doing.

So here I am, getting back on track.

I went and bought my husband his birthday gift. That was partly self serving; it made me feel better about myself, which put me in a better position to start up with my ‘projects’ again. And I think it’s something he’ll really like. He’s been saying over and over again how he needs a new watch; I really wasn’t sure what to get (there are sooooo many choices.)

But on Black Friday, I went to Macy’s and got him this (his has a blue face):

Chronograph watch. Credt: Burberry.com

I think he’s really going to like it.

8 Responses to “#36: Small steps…like buying your husband a birthday gift”

  1. Mrs. C December 6, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    HA! “Mostly done turkey” 🙂 I like it.

    I had a witty wife moment yesterday. We were in line at Costco (my personal hell), and I said to Mr. C, “Do you mind if I go pull the car around? I’m about to have a nervous breakdown in this place!” he said, sure, that was fine, and that he would wait in line with our items. I started to walk away, but turned around and said, “Do you love me, even though I’m a freakazoid?” He smiled, kissed me on the cheek, and replied, “I love you BECAUSE you’re a freakazoid!”

    🙂 I was so thankful to have such a wonderful man in my life, who is totally the calm to my crazy…I wanted to tell the world, just like you do on your blog!

  2. Nicole December 6, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    Being busy is the worst thing for a marriage. I’m realizing this more and more each month. And I’m learning how to make quality time each day for my marriage. Because that’s what really matters the most to me.

    • wittywife December 7, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      It really is, isn’t it?

      I agree – making time for a few minutes of quality time is important. I think I might want to try to start up family game night? Our little man is only 1, and my daughter is with her dad part-time, but I still think it could work. It might be nice for them to learn it as part of our family tradition.

      Or me and the hubby could play scrabble or jenga or something once the kids are in bed.

  3. liveinhusband December 7, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    That is a pretty awesome watch! Maybe you could include a card that says “We’ve been really busy lately. TIME to spend an evening together.”

    Or maybe that’s totally lame. 🙂
    Ryan

    • wittywife December 7, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Wow! What a great idea! I hadn’t even thought of it in that sense. I think I WILL write a short note around that. I don’t think he’ll think it is lame at ALL!

    • Rivki @ Life in the Married Lane December 8, 2010 at 12:22 am #

      That is a SUPER idea! Very clever!

  4. Rivki @ Life in the Married Lane December 8, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Wow, your post reads like my life has felt! It’s been like an explosion of busyness. Usually I thrive on activity, but not this time.

    Anyhoo, I love the gift. I’m sure he’ll love it. I was thinking of getting my husband a watch for our anniversary (it’s in a little over a week). You’ve inspired me to do it.

    Keep up the blogging! Even though I’ve been too busy to stop by as much as I would like, I love your blog!

    • wittywife December 8, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Thanks so much! I appreciate the kind words. I must admit I’ve been kind of stumped lately. Not sure where to go with all of this blogging…

Leave a Reply

