#4: Dress up

20 Aug

Today after work, I am going to meet my husband and go to his new office. He got a new job a few months ago, and I have yet to meet his colleagues. I always dress pretty decently for work, usually a suit, but often I just throw my hair in a ponytail and go in with minimal makeup.

Give me a break, I’m the mom of an elementary school aged child, and a baby!

Today, I dressed up nice, but I also spent time actually putting on makeup, blow-drying my hair, and trying to look good for my husband. I want him to be proud to show me off to his colleagues.

Before you assume that my husband’s shallow, he’s not. He’d be proud no matter what. But it feels good to make the effort and hope that he appreciates it.

I know it’s sounds 50’s housewife-ish, but I think I’ve got a little 50’s housewife in me. Because I want to, not because I have to. What’s wrong with wanting to look good for your husband?

Update:

It was worth the effort to dress up. I met all of my husband’s colleagues, including his new boss. My husband has a professional image he’s trying to project, and I think I helped out.

(Wondering what happened yesterday when I wrote “I love you” in the mirror?)

One Response to “#4: Dress up”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage Poject – Assessment #1 « The Marriage Project - August 24, 2010

    […] Project #4: Dress up […]

Leave a Reply

